How use Modin in Azure ML?

Hello Modin team!

I am a Data Scientist. Currently I am performing deployment in Azure ML, and my data set is growing monthly. It would be great scaling my pandas implementation with Modin, indeed, Azure ML documentation mention this as a solution.

However, I do not kown any tutorial/documentation that illustrates the implementation.

Is there anyone who could suggest me any how-to, tutorial or related documentation?

Best

Hi @Jaimemosg , it is great to hear you come to Modin for scaling pandas. You can use all the pandas functionality that is scaled with Modin just by having changed import statement.

# import pandas as pd
import modin.pandas as pd

Modin is able to distribute work both within a single node and within multiple nodes in a cluster. You might want to look at the use of Modin with XGBoost in both within a single node and in a cluster here.

Please, let us know if it makes sense to you.

Dear @YarShev, thanks for replying.

What you told makes sense, but in fact, it did not worked for me. I launched a Python script step using modin[dask] or modin[ray] (I tried both), and the execution time is huge. I have a cluster with virtual machines of E series.

I was wondering if I am missing some important configuration parameters.

Your suggestion about xgboost is great! Do you know if there exists any way for fitting Lightgbm?

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

@Jaimemosg thanks for your response, I have a couple of questions about your issue:

1.) Did you set up a Ray or Dask execution environment on the cluster first?
2.) What’s the dataset size?
3.) What types of operations are you doing on the dataset?

Hello @devin-petersohn.

I am going to answer your questions below:

1. Well, I am using Azure ML pipelines, so I set a virtual environment as folows:
env = Environment(name="dataprep_regression_environment")
conda_deps = CondaDependencies.create(
        conda_packages=['prophet',
                        'pystan',